Download Latest Edition

Celebrating cricket


TRAFALGAR Cricket Club held its presentation night recently.
Players, families and supporters gathered to celebrate what was a jam-packed 2023/24 season.

The 2023/24 season saw plenty of action on and off the field, most notably the Ships moving back to the Warragul District Cricket Association.

The move was overwhelmingly positive, and resulted in the club experiencing its best senior registration in living memory.

The club went into the season entering three senior teams, but numbers ended up being so strong there was often weeks with enough to field close to four sides.

Another big highlight was the resurrection of Trafalgar High School Oval, which became the home base for the Third XI.

The club wishes to thank Trafalgar High School, especially its principal Brett Pedlow, along with Community Bank Trafalgar & District for their unwavering support in seeing the project come to fruition.
Strong numbers ensured teams were competitive week to week, and this was reflected in results.
The First XI finished second on the home-and-away ladder, while the Seconds and Thirds both finished on top.

This was the first time since 2006/07 Trafalgar had all three senior teams make finals.

Unfortunately the Firsts and Thirds lost their respective semi-finals, but the Second XI ensured at least one premiership for the season.

The Seconds had a dominant season, completing the clean sweep by winning the two-day, one-day and twenty20 flags. The side actually only lost one game for the whole season, which came on Caulfield Cup weekend.

At presentation, players and officials were acknowledged for their efforts.

Darren Brown was a deserved recipient of the Ray Burgess Perpetual Trophy for Best Club Person.
‘Browny’ put in countless hours mowing and maintaining the main oval and surrounds, on top of playing commitments. The award topped off a great season for the family, as his son Zack was named Man of the Match in the Second XI Grand Final.

Rhys Holdsworth won the Richard Errington Medal yet again for First XI Best and Fairest, and Alan Rankin Memorial for batting aggregate, as well as the George Browne Memorial for club champion. The left hand batsman has now won the Errignton Medal a staggering seven times, well and truly putting him in the conversation of all time club great.

At league level, Rhys also won the WDCA league medal and batting aggregate following another 600-plus run season.

Fellow left hander Shane Lanham joined Rhys on the league podium, after taking out the league bowling aggregate in Division 5 (C Grade).

‘Shane-o’ has worked hard on his bowling in recent seasons, and was rewarded with not only the league award, but the club aggregate as well.

Club best-and-fairests were won by Olly Hennessy (Second XI) and Brent Claridge (Third XI – fourth consecutive season).

English import Sam Sharp completed a solid first season in Australia, winning the First XI bowling aggregate, while Josh Campbell, who proved to be one of the ‘finds’ of the season, won the bowling average.

Four players scored centuries this season (all in the First XI): Rhys Holdsworth (2), Liam White, Aydan Connolly and Leo Connolly.

Josh Campbell took two five wicket hauls and Jackson Noonan nabbed a six-fa in the First XI. Jordan Chapman and Owen McLeod-Agland took five-fas in the Second XI and Shane Lanham and Luke O’Neill did so in the Thirds.

Owen also snared a hat-trick in a Second XI T20, and was named player of the finals.

Youngster Zac Larkin took out the Third XI Batting Average with 31.83 after scoring close to 200 runs for the season. The right hander looks to be a handy all-rounder for the future.

Wicket-keeper Leo Sanczuk also took the keepers equivalent of a five-fa, gloving five catches in one innings for the First XI.

The players trip away was to Phillip Island, which proved to be potentially life-changing.

JUNIOR presentation was held separately, with the achievements of teams and players celebrated.
The Under 15s were the standout side, winning the premiership, while the Under 13s showed great improvement.

Trafalgar combined with Drouin to form an Under 17 team, who made the semi-final.
The club wishes to thank Drouin Cricket Club for their partnership, which provided kids from both clubs somewhere to play.

It was agreed to still award the Ben Rowney Medal in the merged team. The medal is named after the Trafalgar Cricket Club life member, and awarded to the under 16/17 best and fairest.

Fittingly, Trafalgar players James Pace and Louis Hennessy tied for the award. Louis was later awarded Rising Star at senior presentation, while James played a match-saving role in the Second XI premiership, top-scoring at Number 11 with a run-a-ball 31.

Liam Smith took a six-fa in the 17s, and was named in the WDCA Team of the Year.

In the 15s, award winners were: Darcy Walsh (players player) and Ryley Gunn (most improved). Darcy won the bowling aggregate and Olly White the batting.

Coaches Leo Sanczuk and Sam Sharp did an excellent job with the team, and were presented with gift baskets featuring Aussie items to take back on the plane.

The pair were hosted this season by Peter and Jill McCourt, who the club thanks wholeheartedly for taking them in, and Mark Smith, who hosted Sam up until Christmas before heading overseas for work.
The 13s had a few wins during the season. Griffin Holies provided a big highlight by winning the league bowling aggregate.

All 13s players were presented with medals. Players were: Griffin Hoiles, Oscar Hoiles, Arthur Walters, Lachlan Van Boven, Eli Devine, Charlie Franke, Riley Fallon, Reid Barnes, Aydan Shareff, Amaan Shareef and Max Allen.

The Trafalgar Cricket Club now looks forward to next season.

Training sessions are set to begin in coming months as the Ships aim for further success.
The club always welcomes new players, members and sponsors.

If you are interested in joining a great family club, visit, or email